F1 Sprint Qualifying, officially known as F1 SprintIt's all we've read ahead of the 2021 British Grand Prix, and for those who don't know, it may seem a bit confusing.

As the first change to the qualifying process since the short-lived and widely hated 2016 heats, the sprint heats have sparked both excitement and apprehension, but to decide which side of the fence you're on, you'll first need to understand what it's all about. about.

So if you are not yet familiar with this F1 update, here we will explain exactly what F1 Sprint qualification is, how it differs from the system we are used to, and how to watch an F1 live stream to watch F1 Sprint per day.

What is the F1 Sprint qualification?

Currently, qualification for a Grand Prix is ​​by direct elimination over three rounds, all on Saturday.

All the drivers take part in the first session and the slowest five take place 16-20 on the final grid. The remaining 15 drivers take part in the second session with 11-15 grid positions again occupied by the slowest five. The final session sees the 10 fastest drivers vying for pole position and the next 2-10 grid spots.

When Sprint qualifying is scheduled, regular qualifying will still take place, although it will be postponed to Friday (instead of Practice 2) and will determine the starting grid for Sprint qualifying that will take place on Saturday, instead of the regular classification.

Sprint qualifications will take place in a single session. All drivers will race 100km, which equates to around 17 laps of Silverstone and their finishing positions in this shorter race will determine their place on the final grid. The short length is intended to provide an exciting race for drivers and spectators where teams won't have to deal with pit stops for fuel or tyres.

Max Verstappen at the British GP

(Image credit: Jure Makovec / SOPA Images / LightRocket via Getty Images)

One of the biggest changes is the fact that the top three finishers in F1 Sprint will receive points for their performance, regardless of his final position in Sunday's Grand Prix. However, the podium is reserved for the Grand Prix on Sunday.

Where does F1 Sprint qualifying take place?

F1 Sprint Qualifying kicks off at the 2021 British GP at Silverstone. On a trial basis, the 2021 season will only see three instances of F1 Sprint, but apart from Silverstone the events have yet to be decided, although the Italian Grand Prix at Monza in mid-September seems a likely candidate.

We expect to see the F1 Sprint classification used on open tracks with plenty of overtaking opportunities, so tight circuits like Monaco are out of the question.

How to watch the sprint qualifiers?

To watch the first round of F1 Sprint qualifying, you'll need to watch a live stream of the British Grand Prix. For those in the UK this is a no brainer as it is the only event this year to be broadcast for free on Channel 4. You can watch it on your TV live on the Channel 4 website or on the All 4 app from the broadcaster for mobiles, game consoles and other streaming devices.

If you are outside the UK when the Grand Prix takes place, you may not be able to access your regular streaming service that you use to watch F1. However, there is a trick to work around this problem: use a VPN.

Lewis Hamilton at the 2021 Emilia-Romagna GP

(Image Credit: Clive Mason - Formula 1 / Formula 1 via Getty Images)

All you need to do is sign up for a quality VPN; our best bet is ExpressVPN, then change your location to home. So, for example, if you're currently in the US and want to get coverage on Channel 4, all you need to do is select a UK server on the VPN, go to the website and start watching.

When will the F1 Sprint qualification take place?

F1 Sprint will take place for the first time on Saturday, July 17 at Silverstone:

  • Practice 1: Friday, July 16 at 2:30 pm BST / 9:30 am ET / 6:30 am PT
  • Qualification 1 - Friday, July 16 at 6pm BST / 1pm ET / 10am PT
  • Practice 2: Saturday, July 17 at 12 p.m. BST / 7 a.m. ET / 4 a.m. PT
  • Sprint Qualifiers: Saturday, July 17 at 4:30 pm BST / 11:30 am ET / 8:30 am PT
  • 2021 British GP: Sunday July 18 at 3pm BST / 10am ET / 7am PT

What events will qualify for F1 Sprint?

It is highly unlikely that F1 Sprint Qualifying will appear at every GP, even if it turns out to be popular. Instead, it will be used on tracks where it offers the most exciting experience, while regular qualifying will be used on others.

Therefore, races at circuits like Silverstone and Monza could turn into F1 Sprint events, while more difficult-to-pass tracks like Monaco will remain quiet.

 

Share This