Making sure you have all the information you need for a meeting will soon be a lot easier thanks to a new update to Google Workspace.

The company's Google Calendar app is reviewing the messages it sends to users to ensure key details are presented in a "more accessible and useful" way.

This means users should be able to detect things like a time or location change, and whether new guests have been added, as well as existing details like login details and a Google Meet login link alongside a seemingly new “ Join Google Meet » button.

Emails from Google Calendar

To eliminate any potential confusion, users will still see old and updated information when they receive an email notifying them of any changes or modifications to an event.

The company says (opens in a new tab) that the updates will also improve Google Workspace's interoperability with other email providers like Microsoft Outlook, so users of all providers and devices can enjoy a useful and easy-to-use interface. use.

The update is currently rolling out and will not require any special tuning or management changes. End users should start seeing the new look immediately, as it will be available to all Google Workspace customers, as well as old G Suite Basic and Business customers, as well as users with personal Google accounts.

(Image credit: Google Calendar)

The news is the latest of several recent updates to Google Calendar, as the company seeks to ensure its calendar app is useful for workers embracing hybrid working after the pandemic subsides.

Recently, Google Calendar was also updated to display a variety of status options in Google Chat, giving you additional insight into what you or your colleagues are up to. Google Chat, which previously only showed when someone was out of the office, can now display a number of different statuses, including "in a meeting" or "focused."

Google Calendar also recently launched "Focus time," where users can block off periods of time where they can avoid meetings and focus on real work.

Setting such a bookmark in your Google calendar will also allow users to decline meetings automatically, meaning there's no last-minute rush to get work done.

Share This